Food For Thought

Today Room 21 had a visit from the FOOD LADY. We certainly learnt a lot! See if you can explain why we need to –

1. Eat at least 3 servings of vegetables and 2 servings of fruit each day.

2. Eat at least 4 servings of bread and cereal every day.

3. Choose foods that are –

Low in fat

Low in sugar

High in fibre

Low in sodium (salt)

Please explain the Food Pyramid.

Today we also learnt other important information –

Exercise at least 30 minutes per day.

Water needs to be your main drink of the day.

Always have breakfast – it gets your body started for the day.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Food For Thought

  1. Debbie B

    Cool article. One thing that always got me at school though is that they never mentioned what the healthy portion serving size was.

    Only later on as an adult did I ever find out.

    Meat – palm of your hand and thick as a deck of cards.
    Veggies – rest of the dinner plate. Ie spread out hand size.

    Following your own hand size here too… So a bigger handed person would eat more than a smaller handed person.

    Best of luck. Hoping that this will rub off onto the kids.

  2. Logan King

    I think some of those foods look tasty. I think I need to eat more fruit but I am good with veges

  3. Lewis Whiteside

    Lewis Whiteside
    March 7 2012
    I like 3 fruits and 3 vegies and I think that I could try to eat new vegies and fruits.

  4. Patrick Ryan

    Patrick has been a great teacher at home teaching me about the good foods with the (heart foundation) “tick”, which made me think very carefully about what I was buying at the supermarket today!! Patrick has worked out that the very best foods (fruit and veges) don’t have a tick!

    Amanda

  5. Kaitlyn Sutherland

    I really enjoyed the food lady coming to our class, she showed us lots of healthy things to eat. I learnt that vegetables and fruit are healthier than white bread, but it is OK to have sometimes but we should mostly eat brown bread. I really enjoyed making our own food pyramid by putting the pretend food on the pyramid. I hope she comes again.

  6. isabellaG!

    I loved that

Leave a Reply

